2022 NHL Awards Show presenters helped inspire hockey community

2022 NHL Awards Show presenters helped inspire hockey community

NEW YORK – The National Hockey League (NHL) and the Tampa Bay Sports Commission today announced the presenters who will join Emmy Award-winning actor and host Kenan Thompson for the 2022 NHL Awards™ on Tuesday, June 21. The televised celebration of the League’s best regular-season performances will be broadcast live from Tampa, Fla., at 7 pm ET on ESPN in the US and Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada.

The presenters for the 2022 NHL Awards include individuals whose stories of resilience moved and inspired the hockey community this season. Among the presenters will be Seattle Kraken fan Nadia Popoviciwho rose to worldwide fame after pointing out a cancerous mole on the neck of Vancouver Canucks assistant equipment manager red hamilton. Popovici and Hamilton will reunite as part of the broadcast.

Other inspiring figures presenting during the live show include Calgary Flames assistant general manager and ALS survivor and advocate Chris Snow as well as his wife, Kelsie, and children, Cohen and Willa; Milton Academy (Mass.) hockey player Jake Thibeault, who was paralyzed by an injury in September 2021; and emergency backup goalie Thomas Hodgeswho overcame blindness in one eye to play in a game for the Anaheim Ducks this season. Martin Lafleurthe son of the late Guy Lafleuralso will present an award.

“To be able to highlight some of the most moving stories and inspirational figures from the past year in hockey on this year’s show is awesome,” said Steve Mayer, NHL Chief Content Officer and Senior Executive Vice President. “With all eyes on the game’s best players, we hope to also recognize these great individuals whose presence in Tampa is sure to be an emotional highlight of the evening.”

ESPN Sports Center anchor Ashley BrewerESPN and NHL Network personality Kevin Weekesand Sportsnet and Hockey Night in Canada personalities David Amber and Elliott Friedman also will present.

The 2022 NHL Awards will reveal the winners of five awards – the Hart Trophy (most valuable player), Vezina Trophy (top goaltender), Norris Trophy (top defenseman), Calder Trophy (rookie of the year) and Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the National Hockey League Players’ Association).

In addition, Noel Acton, the winner of the 2022 Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award presented by MassMutual, and the winner of the EJ McGuire Award of Excellence – given to the draft prospect who best exemplifies commitment to excellence through strength of character, competitiveness and athleticism – will be recognized during the live show. The finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award will also be revealed.

NHL Network™, NHL.com and NHL Social™ will provide comprehensive coverage of the 2022 NHL Awards. Fans can follow the festivities across the NHL’s social media channels via the official hashtag #NHLAwards.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.