oregonlive’s Logo

College World Series 2022 field is set: These 8 teams are headed to Omaha

The 2022 College World Series field is set, and it will feature two of the top national seeds and six other teams that beat the odds to reach the pinnacle of college baseball.

The teams headed to the CWS are: No. 2 seed Stanford, No. 5 Texas A&M, No. 9 Texas, No. 14 Auburn, Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Ole Miss.

Among the top eight national seeds in the NCAA baseball tournament, only Stanford and Texas A&M remain. Two of the other 16 national seeds — Texas and Auburn — won on the road in their best-of-three super regionals to get to Omaha, Nebraska, where the eight-team, double-elimination CWS starts Friday and runs through June 27.

As for the other four teams in the field — Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Ole Miss — none were national seeds, but all made their way from regionals to super regionals and now are headed to the CWS.

Six teams won their super regionals between Saturday and Sunday to claim their CWS spots, while the final two teams to clinch berths — Stanford and Auburn — won Game 3s on Monday.

Stanford topped UConn 10-5, while Auburn edged No. 3 seed Oregon State 4-3.

Now, the matches, schedule, times and TV channels are set for the CWS openers. Here are the details:


opening matches

All times Pacific

Bracket 1

Game 1: (5) Texas A&M vs. Oklahoma, 11 a.m. Friday, June 17 (ESPN)

Game 2: (9) Texas vs. Notre Dame, 4 p.m. Friday, June 17 (ESPN)

Bracket 2

Game 3: (2) Stanford vs. Arkansas, 11 a.m. Saturday, June 18 (ESPN)

Game 4: (3) Oregon State/(14) Auburn vs. Ole Miss, 4 p.m. Saturday, June 18 (ESPN2)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.